Mid-Year Freak Out Tag (2016 Edition)

tag

Hello guys,

I’m back! I was gone for a few weeks because I was on a school trip all of last week and honestly didn’t have anything to talk about before that. But the lovely Cristina @ tinyobsessions tagged me to do the Mid-Year Freak Out tag, which I think is a great tag because it’s really interesting to see which books other bloggers liked or disliked the most so far this year! So, thank you very much Cris 🙂 Make sure to check out her blog!

Best book you’ve read yet in 2016

 aristotle-and-dante-discover-the-secrets-of-the-9781442408937_hr I first wasn’t sure which book to pick because The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater is a close second, but I decided to go with Aristotle and Dante discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saénz. I love everything about this book, the writing, the characters, the plot, the romance.

Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2016

 Definitely City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare. I bought this book back in 2014 when it came, but have been putting it off for so long because I didn’t want The Mortal Instruments to end. I was sad to see it end, but it was insanely good.

 

COHF_cover

New release you haven’t read yet but want to

 acourtofmistandfury The one and only A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas. A Court of Thorns and Roses was one of my favorite reads of 2015 and I was highly, highly anticipating ACOMAF but I sadly still haven’t gotten around to reading it yet.

Most anticipated release for the second half of the year

Even thought here are quite a few releases I’m anticipating in the second half of the year,  I’m going with Heartless by Marissa Meyer! I love her Lunar Chronicles so much and am super excited to see how she tell the story of the queen of hearts. 51InAr+v2NL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_

Biggest disappointment

 25454883  

I was not extremely disappointed in Never Never: Part Three by Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher (I gave it 3 out of 5 stars), but the first two parts had such a great plot, so the ending fell quite flat.

Biggest surprise

 As I said in my review for Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli, I thought that this book would be just another mediocre contemporary, just meh. But I was very pleasently surprised while reading it, because I absolutely loved it, it was so great. 19547856

Favorite new author

Ben Saenz  

Benjamin Alire Saénz, obviously. He gave us the beauty that is Aristotle and Dante and I will forever be greatful.

Newest fictional crush

 I get crushes on fictional characters really easily, but the one who stood out the most was Adam Parrish from The Raven Cycle. Ronan Lynch, Richard Gansey III and Noah Czerny as well, but Adam is the number one. He’s such a fantastic character, I honestly feel blessed to have had the chance to read about him. nrfptrRz

Newest favorite character

 tumblr_n19f5ulQEX1qck31zo1_500  

Same answer as the last question, Mr. Adam Parrish. Thank you, Maggie Stiefvater.

Book that made you cry

 

Blue is the Warmest Color by Julie Maroh made me cry, it’s such a good but sad story. This graphic novel includes LGBTQ+ characters, and I recommend it if you’re interested.

17465574

Book that made you happy

TSA_cover Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy by Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan, Maureen Johnson and Robin Wasserman! These novellas, which take places between City of Heavenly Fire and Lady Midnight, were so funny, cute and also sad.

Favorite book to film adaptation

civilwar  I feel like I’ve hardly seen any book to movie adaptations this year, but luckily I really liked one that I saw and that was Captain America: Civil War. I haven’t read any of the Civil War comics but I’m hoping to do that some day.

Favorite post you’ve done this year

Difficult one, but it has to be one of the reviews I made. Probably either the one for The Raven Boys or Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda.

Most beautiful book you’ve bought this year

 

Easy! By far the most beautiful book I’ve bought (so far) this year is The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater. Just look at it. The art style, the colors, so stunning.

 theravenking

What books do you need to read by the end of the year

Six-of-Crows-Leigh-Bardugo 635616865883334429-Winter-3-10-15 Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo and Winter by Marissa Meyer! Both of these came out last year and were highly anticipated releases of mine, but I sadly haven’t gotten around to either yet. The sequel to Six of Crows is coming out later this year and I hope to read it before that. And of course I really want to know how The Lunar Chronicles end, so I hope to read Winter asap.

This is it for the Mid-Year Freak Out tag! I tag everyone who hasn’t done it but wants to. What’s your favorite book that you’ve read this year so far? I would love to know.

love, marina

Leave a Reply

