The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater | Review

 17675462  Title: The Raven Boys

Author: Maggie Stiefvater

Publisher: Scholastic Press

Published: September 18th 2012

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal

Pages: 409

Purchase: amazon| bookdepository

Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue never sees them–until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks to her.

His name is Gansey, a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble.

But Blue is drawn to Gansey, in a way she can’t entirely explain. He is on a quest that has encompassed three other Raven Boys: Adam, the scholarship student who resents the privilege around him; Ronan, the fierce soul whose emotions range from anger to despair; and Noah, the taciturn watcher who notices many things but says very little.

For as long as she can remember, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love to die. She doesn’t believe in true love, and never thought this would be a problem. But as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore.

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater is a very popular, very hyped-up book in the YA community that I aswell really enjoyed.

Before going into this book, I didn’t know anything about the plot or the story other than the characters’ names that I found out through tumblr edits. Going into this book not knowing much about it is for sure something I’d recommend, but I have to say that the Goodreads synopsis, which you can read above, is quite misleading. The story is about searching for a centuries old Welsh king and magic way more than it is about romance. The romance in this installment was very light, which was a nice suprise, since YA novels often are heavy on insta-love.

From other readers I’ve heard that the story is quite slow and the writing hard to get into, but for me personally it wasn’t. I definitely think that the magic system can be confusing because not everything is 100% explained in this book, but I didn’t mind that since it is only the first installment in a series. The world is extremely complex and I can’t wait to find out more about it in the next books. I personally really enjoyed Stiefvater’s writing, it’s quite descriptive, but not to the point that it gets annoying. She uses beautiful metaphors to seemlessly introduce the magical things that are happening. The atmosphere of TRB was quite creepy but I liked it a lot and was pleasently suprised by, again, how it didn’t seem like Stiefvater tried too hard to make it happen, it just did and made this book unique.

This book is a very character driven one, and I usually enjoy stories like that, with this one being no exception. These characters are definitely what makes this book as special as it is. Our protagonist is Blue Sargent, who was born into a family of psychics without having those powers herself. I loved Blue, she’s relatable, she’s a good friend, she’s confident.

Blue gets involved with the raven boys on their quest to find the Welsh king Glendower. The boys are all very different but real-feeling characters, with every single one of them having their own secrets and quirks and all of them being multi-layered and complex. My favorite raven boy so far is probably Adam, the only one of them who isn’t wealthy, but he’s so strong and brave and nice and loving (new fictional boyfriend? I think yes.)

tumblr_mgglqs5wCo1rquhqmo1_400

I definitely think this book focused on Gansey and Adam, but I hope we’ll see more of the other two boys, Ronan and Noah, in the next books and find out more about them. What we did see of them though I really enjoyed and I can honestly say that this is an absolute amazing set of characters that I can’t wait to go on more adventures with because I like all of them a lot so far.

The only thing that I didn’t love 100% was a scene that happened towards the end of the book, in which I didn’t understand all of the things that were going on. But like some other twists and hints at things, I hope and believe it will play a role in the following installments and be explained better in those.


I absolutely loved this book and gave it 5/5 stars. I’m very much looking forward to the rest of The Raven Cycle and hope to get to it as soon as possible. Have you read this book? If yes, what are your opinions on it? If The Raven Boys has been sitting on your tbr for a long time as it had been on mine, I highly recommend picking it up and giving it a try.

love, marina

3 thoughts on “The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater | Review

Leave a Reply

