Hamilton Book Tag

Hello everyone,

I hope you all are having a great day, week, month. I recently jumped on the Hamilton bandwagon and oh my, I’ve only ever been obsessed with one musical before and that was Les Misérables, but man, Hamilton sure is one of the best things in music history. And Lin-Manuel Miranda is a precious cinnamon roll (congrats on the Pulitzer award!!!). If you don’t know what Hamilton even is, it’s basically a hip hop/rap musical about one of the founding fathers of the United States, Alexander Hamilton.

The lovely Maureen from maureenkeavy combined Hamilton and books into one awesome tag, so I thought I should do it too!

tumblr_nwlnu7Dvyr1ujfm9zo1_500

1. The Room Where It Happens: Book world you would put yourself in

“No one else was in the room where it happens, the room where it happens, the room where it happens, no one really knows how the game is played, the art of the trade”

I’m not going to be totally basic and say the Wizarding World. I’m just going to be half-basic and say the world from Percy Jackson. I’m currently reading Percy Jackson and the Battle of the Labrythin by Rick Riordan and it’s reminding me of how badly I want to be a demigod. I think I want Athena to be my mom.

2. The Schuyler Sisters: Underrated Female Character

“And when I meet Thomas Jefferson I’m ‘a compel him to include women in the sequel!”

For underrated female characters I’m choosing the Queens from Rat Queens by Kurtis J. Wiebe and Roc Upchurch. This is a graphic novels series about four super fun, sassy and feminist monster fighting girls. Not only are the characters underrated, but the whole series is! I’ve heard some booktubers talk about these graphic novels but not a single blogger. I wish more people would pick these up and read them!

3. My Shot: A character that goes after what they want and doesn’t let anything stop them

“I’m not throwing away my shot! I’m ‘a get a scholarship to King’s College, I prob’ly shouldn’t brag, but dag, I amaze and astonish”

This question is made for the one and only Linh Cinder from The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer. If you’ve read some of my blog posts then you might know that I adore TLC and Cinder is one of my favorite characters of all time. She literally breaks into a castle (multiple times) to save the world and just do what she thinks is right and wants to start a revolution against an interplanetary queen.

4. Stay Alive: A character you wish was still alive

“Stay alive, stay alive.”

All I’m going to say is Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J. K. Rowling. Cries.

5. Burn: The most heartbreaking end to a relationship you’ve ever read

“I’m erasing myself from the narrative, let future historians wonder how Eliza reacted when you broke her heart, you have torn it all apart”

I’d say Clockwork Princess but I can’t only use books by Cassandra Clare, so I’m going with Allegiant by Veronica Roth. This book wasn’t fantastic or anything, but it sure had a heartbreaking end to a relationship. When I read this, the reaction of a certain someone to an thing that happens hurt me more than the thing itself, so I think Allegiant deserves to be my pick for this question.

6. You’ll Be Back: Sassiest villain

“We have seen each other through it all and when push comes to shove, I will send a fully armed battalion to remind you of my love!”

I honestly couldn’t think of a character to fit this category, and I really feel like I’m forgetting someone obivous, so I’m just gonna say Sebastian from The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare. Sebastian is one of my favorite villains ever, he’s great, he’s evil, he’s sassy, he’s smart, what else could you want?

7. The Reynolds Pamphlet – A book with a twist that you didn’t see coming

“Have you read this? Alexander Hamilton had a torrid affair and he wrote it down right there. Highlights!”

Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare. I’m obviously not going to say what the twist is, but man, it changed a lot for me.

8. Non-stop: A series you marathoned

“Why do you write like you’re running out of time? Write day and night like you’re running out of time? Ev’ry day you fight, like you’re running out of time”

To be honest, I don’t marathon series often, mostly because I don’t have the money to buy all the books in a series, so I only own one or two of them when I start reading said series. But Twilight by Stephanie Meyer I did marathon back in 2009 I believe. A friend of mine was obsessed with this series and convinced me to watch the first movie with her, which I fell in love with (now I know that it has many flaws, but I did not see that back then). Obviously I had to read all the books to find out what happens next and BAAM that’s how I got introduced to YA, which I’ve been reading and loving ever since.

9. Satisfied: Favorite book with multiple POVs

“Ev’rything we said in total agreement, it’s a dream and it’s a bit of a dance. A bit of a posture, it’s a bit of a stance.”

THE LUNAR CHRONICLES. I’m so sorry for being repetitive with my answers but I adore this series. A lot. These books have multiple POVS (duh) and the characters are amazing and fun, so it (almost) never gets boring!

10. Who Lives, Who Dies, Who Tells Your Story: A book/series you feel like will be remembered throughout history

“And when my time is up, have I done enough? Will they tell my story?”

Harry Potter. What else. I personally already consider these books to be classics and I’m 394% sure that they will be remembered and contine to be loved throughout history. They are of course phenominal, people no matter what age can read them and they don’t get boring, they sure are timeless.

tumblr_o0dv3ruKOG1ue0dpno1_500


I don’t know who likes Hamilton here, so I’m not going to tag anyone, but if you’d like to do this, consider yourself tagged! If you haven’t yet, CHECK HAMILTON OUT.

love, marina

Leave a Reply

